Noise Research

Noise Research is the alter-ego of UK Sound Artist / Musician Ian Simpson.

Noise Research has material released on the Electronic Musik (UK), Rift Recordings (UK), Kultur [Terrorismus] (Germany), Classwar Karaoke (UK), aReW (UK), Earth Monkey Productions (UK), A.M.P (S. America), aReW (UK), Rec72 (Germany), iFar (UK), Clinical Archives (Russia) & Bivouac (China) labels.

Releases currently available are

  • The Liftshaft EP (also known as Nuclear Liftshaft)
  • Split with Barbarians (Electronic Musik)
  • Noise Research I (Electronic Musik)
  • Noise research II (Electronic Musik)
  • Noise Research III (Bivouac)
  • Rifts (2 tracks) on Rift recordings
  • Noise Research Four (Earth Monkey Productions)
  • Evoluon ( A.M.P.)
  • Two Studies, split with Fonik (aReW)
  • Classwar Karaoke Survey series (Classwar Karaoke)
  • Ocean Epicure with Graham Dunning (on Clinical Archives)
  • Forgotten Reel (very early recordings previously unreleased)
  • Forgotten Reel II (second volume of early recordings)
  • Music for Electronic Tape (Electronic Musik)
  • Consisted Construction (Electronic Musik)
  • Radio Electronics (Electronic Musik)
  • Shelter Itch (A.M.P.)
  • Necktar 2017 Vol. 3 (Necktar)
  • Unified Theory with Richard Knight (aReW)
  • smallRadio – Leaf Shaped Remixes (Rec72)
  • iFar Compilation One (iFar)
  • Soundscapes for the Abandoned (Kultur Terrorismus)

Ian has been involved in the experimental / improvised music scene for many years and has performed with / alongside (amongst others).

  • Evan Parker
  • Graham Dunning
  • Acid Mothers Temple
  • Sun Ra Arkestra
  • Eddie Prevost
  • Faust
  • Bark!
  • Pram
  • John Russell
  • Paul Rutherford
  • Telescopes
  • The A band
  • Mark Wastell
  • Rhodri Davis
  • Keith Rowe
  • Colin Potter
  • Pascal Nichols
  • Janek Schaefer
  • Alexander Von Schlippenbach
  • Mick Beck
  • Phil Marks
  • Lol Coxhill

He has adopted an uncompromising approach in composition, improvisation, playing and performance which has led to his involvement as a performer with ‘The Frakture Big Band’ (Liverpool), Noise Club (Liverpool), Janx: The Gathering (Liverpool), ‘Gnod’ (Manchester), Fraktal (Liverpool), Aht-N (Cumbria) & ‘Fonik’ (Warrington). He also actively organises and promotes performances in UK including the Pyramid Experimental Music Festival and Manchester based Electronic Organica Nights. One of his most recent projects is a collaboration with sound artist Graham Dunning, the results of which have been released by Clinical Archives in January 2010. Ian has just finished the soundtrack to a short film, A Movement Towards (2010) by London based film-maker David Sant. Ian has also recently recorded with Herve Perez and Richard Knight. Ian is a regular performer at the Frakture ‘Centrifuge’ events.

A comment about Noise Research Four

“Such an outstanding album it really is a class piece of work” – Jeff Grainger (Dandelion Radio, 2008).

One about Rifts

“A soundtrack to while away the time to as Western civilisation inevitably continues its steadily increasing rate of decay” (Heathen Harvest, 2009)

One about Noise Research

“The closest I’ve come to musical conversation for a long while” – Andrew Hodges (Chaparral, 2010)

And another

“The echoes of deep space emulated in the trans-dimensional winding of strings and quarks” (WTF Music, 2010)

And another

“A brilliant electro-acoustic improviser who can be seen in many incarnations around the North of England. He also finds time to run the amazing net label Electronic Musik and the Electronic Organica experimental music nights in Manchester” (Cumbria Remixed, 2011)

And yet another

“Tripped out to that remix yesterday during a long car drive – so many textures – love it!” (Radio Scotvoid, 2011)

And another

“More amazing sounds from Noise Research” (Marble Venus Blog, 2011)


Download Ocean Epicure